used books in great shape
save 40%-50% off retail
FREE shipping
on orders over $30
Our inventory is a little low right now. Please bear with us.
This site is run by full-time teachers who are busy getting everything ready for the new year school year. Because of this, our inventory is low. BUT we have TONS of new books and plan to start adding them in early September. Stay tuned!
free shipping on orders over $30
Sale

Boys of Blur by N.D. Wilson

$ 7.99 $ 2.75

A good pick for fans of Maniac Magee and Holes!


loved by:
  4th grade     5th grade     6th grade     7th grade

summary: Fans of Jerry Spinelli's Maniac Magee and Louis Sachar's Holes will enjoy this story about a boy and the ancient secrets that hide deep in the heart of the Florida everglades near a place called Muck City.

When Charlie moves to the small town of Taper, Florida, he discovers a different world. Pinned between the everglades and the swampy banks of Lake Okeechobee, the small town produces sugar cane...and the fastest runners in the country. Kids chase muck rabbits in the fields while the cane is being burned and harvested. Dodging flames and blades and breathing smoke, they run down the rabbits for three dollars a skin. And when they can do that, running a football is easy.  

But there are things in the swamp, roaming the cane at night, that cannot be explained, and they seem connected to sprawling mounds older than the swamps. Together with his step-second cousin "Cotton" Mack, the fastest boy on the muck, Charlie hunts secrets in the glades and on the muck flats where the cane grows secrets as old as the soft earth, secrets that haunted, tripped, and trapped the original native tribes, ensnared conquistadors, and buried runaway slaves. Secrets only the muck knows.

Reading Level:   Guided Reading Level X      DRA Level 60

book type:    chapter book

condition:  This book is used but it is in good condition.  Occasionally there's the previous owner's name or inscription on the inside front cover.  Overall though, we are very proud of the quality of our books!