Free shipping on orders over $30

The Best Man **SALE**

$ 16.99 $ 5.99

Add to Wishlist

New books were purchased as overstock (excess from stores / warehouses) and have a small dot or line on the edge (made by the publisher).
Used books
are previously owned but in good condition with minimal wear. Occasionally, a previous owner's name/inscription is on the inside front cover. 

The Best Man
by Richard Peck

Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos.  Multiple award winner, including:
  • Boston Globe Horn Honor Book
  • Amazon Editors’ Picks for Fall (Ages 9-12)
  • New York Times Notable Children's Book
  • Horn Book Fanfare
  • School Library Journal Best Books of 2016
  • Kirkus Best Books of 2016
  • Chicago Public Library Best Books of 2016
Summary: Archer Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the great architect; his dad, the great vintage car customizer,; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth—Mr. McLeod, a teacher. In fact, the first male teacher in the history of the school.

But now here comes middle school and puberty. Change. Archer wonders how much change has to happen before his voice does. He doesn't see too far ahead, so every day or so a startling revelation breaks over him. Then a really big one when he's the best man at the wedding of two of his role models. But that gets ahead of the story.

In pages that ripple with laughter, there's a teardrop here and there. And more than a few insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be.

Interest Level:   4th grade     5th grade     6th grade     7th grade

Book Type:    chapter book

Reading Level:   DRA Level 50     Guided Reading Level V

As a service, we have added a small label to the inside front cover of the book indicating the book's reading level.